Canard Community Forum  

Go Back   Canard Community Forum > Firewall Backward and Forward
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-07-2006, 11:22 AM

Default engine

John Slade, can you tell how much your engine weights including cooler,and also use of fuel for diff. hp setting, I have heard that the rotary use a lot of fuel, otherwise very reliable. I have search info on this on diff. forum but can`t find it.
Old 03-07-2006, 11:36 AM
Flying TurboRotaryCozyIV

Hi & welcome,
With the turbo, coolant and oil, oil coolers, radiator, intercooler and other accesories I think the 13B weights in at about 360lb. I don't have a clear idea of fuel burn yet, but it's clearly not ridiculously high. Other rotary flyers (Tracy Crook) have reported similar fuel burn to Lycomings. Since I'm using auto gas rather than 100 low lead the net cost per mile is much lower with the rotary.
Old 03-07-2006, 12:22 PM

I'm no expert, but tests have shown that a well-leaned Mazda Rotary engine will produce the same hp/lb fuel as a Lycoming when running rich.

In terms of fuel burn alone, it is an indisputable fact that the air-cooled lycoming is more efficient. By leaning the Lycoming, it WILL BE more fuel efficient than a well-leaned rotary. However, you have to consider overall lifecycle costs. Running lean of peak with a lycoming will reduce your TBO, at significant cost, which may exceed the fuel savings. Once you consider all life-cycle cosst, including installation, maintenance, overhaul, fuel options (93 vs. 100LL), then the Mazda rotary appears to meet or exceed the cost efficiency of the Lycoming.