Canard Community Forum  

Go Back   Canard Community Forum > Instuments / Avionics / Electrical System
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2006, 12:15 PM
Glos Glos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 252
Default Poor mans CAD

I have been thinking of re-arranging my IP and I didn't have those nice IP CAD Drawings so I pasted a picture into powerpoint, drew circles and rectangles over the existing instruments and can move them around as necessary.

I need to get rid of the Loran and want to fit in a garmin 296 or 396

This panel is my second mod. It is 1/8th aluminum bolted over the cutout original panel. I have been thinking I would like to build another original and re-attaching. There has been some controversy in the past that this is structural but with all the holes in it, thats questionable.

This panel has been in place for 12 years now.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Instrument panel.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	201.0 KB
ID:	1880  Click image for larger version

Name:	IP2.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	158.8 KB
ID:	1881  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2006, 01:51 PM
Waiter's Avatar
Waiter Waiter is offline
LongEZ-RG
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northwestern Ohio
Posts: 1,096
Default

I'm redoing mine also. The steam gages are gone, and the glass is in.

I copied the photo into Corel Draw and did my magic.

Basically, I laid up 3 layers if BID on a flat sheet, when cured, I cut it to fit the existing panel, After the new overlay cured, I then cutout where all the new toys are going.

Look at JUNE 1 2005 on my web site!

www.iflyez.com

Waiter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:35 PM
Chairboy's Avatar
Chairboy Chairboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Springfield, OR
Posts: 92
Default

Just a quick follow up for panel design, in case you haven't seen it, don't forget about:

http://www.epanelbuilder.com/

Handy for this stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:56 AM
Glos Glos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 252
Default

Chairboy

Thanks for the tip. This site worked great

Waiter

I looked at your rebuilt panel-nice. It seems that in later photos, the panel is thicker than 3 plies of Bid. The shot in the October pages are looking from the bottom up.

Here is the reconfigured panel. The DG in the upper left corner is really my Old Escort II Nav/Com.

When I cut out the old panel for the existing one I left a border about 3/4 inch all around and bolted to it. On this one I want to make it out of bid and reintegrated back into the Fuse. Or, bolt this one in like I did the aluminum one.

What do you think? Comments please.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture1.png
Views:	65
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	1900  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2006, 11:52 AM
John Slade's Avatar
John Slade John Slade is offline
Flying TurboRotaryCozyIV
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: KWST
Posts: 3,836
Default

Quote:
Comments please.
Com Radio?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:02 PM
Glos Glos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 252
Default

Hey John

What I mean to say was that there was no circular graphics in the software ao I used a picture of a DG to take the "visual" space in the upper left corner.
The Escort II Nav/Com radio full a 3 1/8 round panel hole. It still works great after 18 years and is very convenient in the round hole.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2006, 11:55 PM
John Slade's Avatar
John Slade John Slade is offline
Flying TurboRotaryCozyIV
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: KWST
Posts: 3,836
Default

Ah! I should have spotted that.

OK. Another question - Is that blue knob onb the right mixture? Power with the left hand, mixture with the right? How does that work?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:14 AM
Glos Glos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 252
Default

Nah

Thats just another one of my substitutions. The blue knob is my ignition key
and the red one is where the primer will go.

I later found the switch but not the primer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.