Canard Community Forum  

Go Back   Canard Community Forum > Instuments / Avionics / Electrical System
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2006, 12:00 AM
Dust's Avatar
Dust Dust is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 7,963
Default Transponder antenna

well - we don gots one - wat we posed to do - buy one or is one o dem cper ribbons used?

we got a transponder and 3 gps antennas, well 2 in hand 1 cmon, but none transponder antenna - thane said somethin about a ground plane?

installing upside down on bottom of plane? AHHHHHHHHHHHH an antenna stickin outa my plane? just can't stand that pukola thing
__________________
Enjoy the build,njut av byggandet, godere il costruire, nyd bygningen, geniesse den Bau, apolafse tin kataskevi, disfrute la construcción, curta a construção, Pidä hauskaa rakentamisen parissa, bouw lekker,uživaj grade?inaslajdaites postroikoi, geniet die bou
dust

maker of wood, fiberglass, foam dust, metal bits and one day a Cozy will pop out and swiftly whisk me from meeting old friends and family to adventures throughout the world
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2006, 12:59 AM
Lynn Erickson Lynn Erickson is offline
EVOLUTION EZE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 535
Default

I made mine with the copper ribbon and it works better than the $ 80 one I use to have. it stopped working but never worked as good as the one I made. I made a two ply layup of glass and west sys. glued the ribbon on soldered the wire on, add three ferrite baluns over coax and covered with two more plys. it is the two strip type or di pole and it is mounted vertical in the nose. no ground plane needed mount with two side tape.

And thats another reason not build with carbon you can't use internal antennas
__________________
This is my opinion of these facts and only my opinion, your opinion may vary

Lynn Erickson A&P for lets say almost 30 years
Much better with a Dremel than a computer.
What if they gave me choice between a fast computer or a fast plane?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:10 AM
neverquit's Avatar
neverquit neverquit is offline
G.Norman
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lathrup Village, MI
Posts: 1,481
Default

Lynn,
You mounted on the side wall inside the nose? Where the weight goes?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:27 AM
Lynn Erickson Lynn Erickson is offline
EVOLUTION EZE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 535
Default

its mounted about sta 18 high on the right side. about even with the front edge of the canard. its only about 7" long. I believe any where up front will work or in the wing root will also work. I don't know where the weight goes, my design doesn't need weight up front.
__________________
This is my opinion of these facts and only my opinion, your opinion may vary

Lynn Erickson A&P for lets say almost 30 years
Much better with a Dremel than a computer.
What if they gave me choice between a fast computer or a fast plane?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.